Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
12-31-2013, 08:58 AM   #1

300mm zoom choices

Hi, Newbie here; I just got a second hand K10d for christmas with the basic kit lens. I want to add a 300mm zoom lens in the 55/70-300 range. I have a question, there is a Sigma lens for Pentax at 70--300 (macro) that is about a hundred dollars less than the DA 55-300 pentax version. Then there is another Pentax version HD DA for around $450 which is the most expensive.

It seems to me the Sigma w Macro is more versatile and less expensive making it the obvious choice.

But there must be a reason the Pentax brand lenses are so much more expensive? What am I missing ?

12-31-2013, 09:26 AM   #2
Loyal Site Supporter
Loyal Site Supporter

Photos: Gallery
The HD DA is brand new and WR. The DA has Quick Shift. There is also a DA L which is a kit version. It has a plastic mount and lacks Quick Shift but is optically the same as the DA. The Pentax isn't a "Macro" but it does close focus to about 1:3.5. The addition of a Raynox 150 makes it a macro lens.

The Sigma has a reputation as a Purple Monster.

Sigma 70-300mm F4-5.6 APO DG Macro Lens Reviews - Sigma Lenses - Pentax Lens Review Database

SMC Pentax-DA 55-300mm F4-5.8 ED Reviews - DA Zoom Lenses - Pentax Lens Reviews & Lens Database

SMC Pentax-DA L 55-300mm F4-5.8 ED Reviews - DA L Zoom Lenses - Pentax Lens Reviews & Lens Database

Pentax DA 55-300mm f/4-5.8 ED samples - PentaxForums.com

https://www.pentaxforums.com/forums/130-lens-sample-photo-archive/155042-sigm...le-photos.html
12-31-2013, 09:59 AM   #3
Loyal Site Supporter
Loyal Site Supporter

Photos: Gallery | Albums