Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version 1 Like Search this Thread
01-07-2014, 05:58 PM   #1
Pentaxian

Photos: Gallery
Which camera for old manual lenses?

The long story short: less than two month ago I bought my first DSLR. And now here I am: looking for the second one!
Seems like it's going to be expensive hobby.

A few days ago I read about old lenses on modern camera and want to try it. I used to have film camera Zenit and made my best pictures with it. Now I would like to have that "old style" pictures with the convenience of digital technology. I'm a bit annoyed with all digital perfection, and try something else.

Searching for the best option on budget to buy used Pentax camera for my first manual lens, Helios-44K-4, which I bought on ebay with old Zenit. I would not like to use adapter, and Pentax gives lots of options for K mount lenses as I read.

I've never used Pentax cameras before, and there is no way I can go around and play with them. Unfortunately, many photo stores were out of business in our area, and big stores don't have Pentax.

What camera is better? I can buy 6.1 mp on budget, or it's better to skip that and go to at least to 10?

My first choice was ist DL.
Now I'm thinking about K-x, or K200D.
Help please.

01-07-2014, 06:02 PM   #2
Administrator
Site Webmaster

Photos: Gallery | Albums
I would stay away from the ist DL haha, no offense to it but it is an extremely basic camera by modern standards.

The best bang for the buck, image quality wise, is probably going to be the K-x.

Adam
PentaxForums.com Webmaster (Site Usage Guide | Site Help | My Photography)

PentaxForums.com server and development costs are user-supported. You can help cover these costs by donating or purchasing one of our Pentax eBooks. Or, buy your photo gear from our affiliates, Adorama, B&H Photo, KEH, or Topaz Labs, and get FREE Marketplace access - click here to see how! Trusted Pentax retailers:
01-07-2014, 06:10 PM   #3
Pentaxian