Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
01-11-2014, 04:19 PM   #1

Fast focusing lens for action shots

Hi. I'm still fairly new to my Pentax.... around 6-7 months now. My son is playing basketball but my photos are still blurring-I'm mainly using a 18-250 lens and I tried my 35 to 105 lens. Any suggestions on minimum settings to try? I was also wondering if a prime lens would be a good choice? I've heard they are faster focusing? Any suggestions for stopping action and crisp clear shots? Setting helps would be a nice place to start as I am new but also wondered about the new lens? Hopefully something under $300? Does that exist? The next lens I was considering purchasing was a 35mm auto focus prime lens? Would this one be a good choice? I've heard it's a good one but don't know if it will be good for action or not? I am using a K-x.

Ideas?

Thank you?

01-11-2014, 05:08 PM   #2
Pentaxian

Photos: Gallery | Albums
Shutter speed can make a big impact on action shots. Depending on the available light can be tough. Faster shutter speeds freeze action slower shutter speeds can blur action. Both can be used to different advantages. See my 2 examples below. What you think might be focus issues may be motion blur which faster shutter speeds can cure.

Taken at 1/1500 sec. Notice the tires and guardrail.

Taken at 1/90 sec. while panning the camera. Now note the tires and guardrail.

One other thing to remember. The larger your F-Stop the faster the shutter speed BUT the smaller your depth of field. I tend to play with different things to find what works right with my motorsports photography. The instant feedback of digital helps a bunch. Both the above shots were taken with a Pentax DA-L 55-300mm zoom.