Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
01-11-2014, 07:27 PM   #1

Exposure Mode setting

I am new to Pentax. Just bought a K3. Great camera.

I am wondering which exposure mode most people use. TAv looks good. If I wanted to be able to adjust the aperture I can do it in this mode. I also can do it using Av. So what is difference between the two?

Thanks.

Steve

01-11-2014, 07:30 PM   #2
Administrator
Site Webmaster

Photos: Gallery | Albums
QuoteOriginally posted by Bigdomino Quote
I am new to Pentax. Just bought a K3. Great camera.

I am wondering which exposure mode most people use. TAv looks good. If I wanted to be able to adjust the aperture I can do it in this mode. I also can do it using Av. So what is difference between the two?

Thanks.

Steve
You'll probably want to stay in P or Av mode if you just want to adjust the aperture. Doing it in P mode is a breeze as you can always go back to full auto just by hitting the green button. TAv is where you set the shutter speed + aperture manually and the camera tweaks the ISO setting to achieve proper exposure.

Adam
PentaxForums.com Webmaster (Site Usage Guide | Site Help | My Photography)

PentaxForums.com's high server and development costs are user-supported. You can help cover those costs by donating. Or, buy your photo gear from our affiliates, Adorama, B&H Photo, or Topaz Labs, and get FREE Marketplace access - click here to see how! Trusted Pentax retailers:

01-11-2014, 07:31 PM   #3
Site Supporter

Photos: Gallery
Here is the poll.

https://www.pentaxforums.com/forums/6-pentax-dslr-discussion/227309-what-your...sure-mode.html

No need for another thread :-)
01-11-2014, 07:31 PM   #4
Loyal Site Supporter

With TAv, the camera will adjust the ISO for correct exposure. With Av, the ISO is usually fixed and the camera adjusts the shutter speed for correct exposure.

01-11-2014, 07:37 PM   #5

Original Poster