Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
01-17-2014, 03:35 AM   #1

Looking for Advice on a New Camera

Hello friends! I am looking into getting a Pentax and just wanted to toss this here to make sure I wasn't messing up too badly.

I have recently decided I would be interested in acquiring a new DSLR. This would be an upgrade from my current hot pink point-and-click. While I am by no means an expert in photography, I am fairly familiar with newer DSLR cameras and have used three or four kinds.

I'm looking at a budget of $700-$800 USD, and the Pentax K-50 has caught my eye, mostly for the weather sealed body, I won't lie. I'm the sort of person who spills lemonade on $700 cameras, I like taking pictures of snow during snowstorms, it has a nice collection of features that I can get behind.

What I'm most concerned about is the fact I have been generously given my father's collection of lenses. They are old Canon FD mount lenses, and though I can't remember their exact specifications at the moment (I'll update later!) they're the BIG puppies. One's telephoto, if I remember right. I've been doing research and I understand I'll need an adaptor to get them on any Pentax (or for that matter, any camera made after 1980) I end up with, and that I'll be stuck manual focusing them and that I'll lose my ability to focus to infinity with them. I'm really okay with this. To be honest, I'm really tired of the pink camera's near useless auto-focus, and I'm really about the macrophotography life. I figured I might as well get some use out of the thousand dollars of glass I have sitting around and that I'd need an adaptor regardless of what new brand of DSLR I went with. I'd probably update my lenses as I had the money. I've been snooping in the forums at all of the lens mount adaptor threads that feature FD mount information, so I'm not running into this blind.