Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home
 

Reply
Show Printable Version Search this Thread
01-17-2014, 08:41 PM   #1
Site Supporter
AmyOhNo's Avatar

Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: Sometimes....Malaysia, Sometimes Mississippi
Posts: 6
Brand new K-50 and SMC D FA Macro 100 F2.8 problems

I purchased a SMC D FA Macro 100 F2.8 online, used but like new. I connected it to my K-50 which is less than 6 months old and nothing happens. The F_ _ _ flashes and it won't focus no matter how I set the camera. It will not take a pic or make a noise. The K 50 works fine with my kit lenses but not this one. What am I doing wrong?

01-17-2014, 08:46 PM - 1 Like   #2
Veteran Member
Roob-N-Boots's Avatar

Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Palm Springs CA
Posts: 386
Move the aperture ring back to the "A" setting.
01-17-2014, 08:56 PM   #3
Site Supporter
AmyOhNo's Avatar

Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: Sometimes....Malaysia, Sometimes Mississippi
Posts: 6
Original Poster
QuoteOriginally posted by Roob-N-Boots Quote
Move the aperture ring back to the "A" setting.
Thank you Roob-N-Boots. Worked like a charm! I knew it was something I was doing or not doing. Thank you for your quick reply!
01-17-2014, 08:57 PM - 1 Like   #4
dms
Site Supporter




Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: New York, NY
Photos: Gallery
Posts: 1,623
And look in the manual about using non-A lenses (which would let you use the lens w/o being on the A setting--a needed feature w/ many extension tubes, bellows, etc.). There is a menu item that permits this. This always comes up--Pentax could have/should have it permitted by default!

01-17-2014, 09:19 PM   #5
Site Supporter
AmyOhNo's Avatar

Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: Sometimes....Malaysia, Sometimes Mississippi
Posts: 6
Original Poster
It also doesn't help that I'm 2 days jet-lagged. Just got home from work tonight, excited to try out my new lens and nada. A grown woman almost reduced to tears and too tired to google properly. I knew you guys would come through for me.
01-17-2014, 09:39 PM - 1 Like   #6
Pentaxian
Kozlok's Avatar

Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Albuquerque
Photos: Gallery
Posts: 1,793
There is a menu item labeled "using aperture ring". Set that to "enabled". Then when you set the aperture with the lens, it will just choose that aperture! In the K-30 it's in the last menu all the way to the right.
Reply

Bookmarks
  • Submit Thread to Facebook Facebook
  • Submit Thread to Twitter Twitter
  • Submit Thread to Digg Digg
Tags - Make this thread easier to find by adding keywords to it!
brand new k-50, camera, f2.8, fa, fa macro, k-50, k-50 and smc, macro, macro 100 f2.8, pentax help, photography, smc, smc d fa
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
For Sale - Sold: Pending Sale: SMC Pentax-D FA 100mm F2.8 Macro WR New In Box klkitchens Sold Items 3 01-05-2014 07:44 PM
SMC Pentax-D FA 50mm F2.8--VS.--Sigma 70mm F2.8 EX DG, on Macro and Portrait ndhonghai Pentax K-5 6 10-02-2012 01:12 AM
Looking for opinions on SMC-D FA 100/2,8 Macro + 50 mm Macro jolinjo Pentax SLR Lens Discussion 8 10-17-2011 02:57 PM
For Sale - Sold: SMC PENTAX D FA 50mm F2.8 f/2.8 Macro Lens new in Boxed Alonsozjj Sold Items 3 05-10-2009 08:19 AM



All times are GMT -7. The time now is 08:51 AM. | See also: NikonForums.com, CanonForums.com part of our network of photo forums!
  • Red (Default)
  • Green
  • Gray
  • Dark
  • Dark Yellow
  • Dark Blue
  • Old Red
  • Old Green
  • Old Gray
  • Dial-Up Style
Hello! It's great to see you back on the forum! Have you considered joining the community?
register
Creating a FREE ACCOUNT takes under a minute, removes ads, and lets you post! [Dismiss]
Top