Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
01-22-2014, 10:12 PM   #1

lots of different creative work- K-5, K-5 II/s, or K-3

Hi everyone,

I am looking at buying my first DSLR.

At the moment I can't afford to buy a 'professional' camera and I am also a beginner, so don't want to overwhelm myself. I have been looking at the Pentax K-5 (second hand), the Pentax K-5 IIs (new) or I could (maybe) push it to the Pentax K-3 (new). But really, I would like to get away with spending as little as possible, but of course I want the best photos....

Things I am hoping to use the camera for:
  • Photos for my website, they will simple photos, taken inside (no moving subjects)- these need to be high quality pictures.
  • Travel photography- street scenes, people, landscapes and so on...this is just for fun, for me.

Things my partner is hoping I will use the camera for (basically promotional shots of him performing at events):
  • Outdoor photos at festivals in the Australian summer and winter (mostly during the day). I will be taking shots of my partner performing on stage and the crowd. Think lots of dust and temperatures between 0-40°C. One of the reasons I have decided to go with Pentax is because of its weather-sealed body - but is this treatment just going to destroy whatever camera and lenses I buy?
  • Photos in nigh-clubs- same as above except, obviously, for the lighting situation.
  • General promotional shots of my partner- for print and web.

Am I hoping for too much from one camera? And for all of this which would you recommend as being the most suitable? Or should I perhaps buy multiple cameras? Or for the work I am trying to do, do I need to spend more and get a 'better' camera?

I am new to the forum and photography - so apologies if I haven't been specific or clear enough. If I have missed anything please let me know

Thanks for your help !

01-22-2014, 10:26 PM   #2

Original Poster