Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
01-23-2014, 09:23 AM   #1

Photos: Gallery
K-30 and Sigma EF-610 as a slave

Hello All,
I'm just getting started with my K-30 and Digital SLR in general. So if this question displays my ignorance I apologize in advance. Is it possible to make the Sigma EF-610 flash work as a slave? If so how would you go about it? The switch on the back of it only has 4 settings. 1 (off) 2 (TTL) 3 (MH) 4 (ML). I would like to play around with it off camera to see the effects of directional lighting but I'm not sure how to set it up. The instructions that came with the flash are nearly useless. Thanks in advance for any advice.

01-23-2014, 10:14 AM   #2
Veteran Member

Photos: Gallery | Albums
I assume you have the EF610ST and not the EF610Super. If so, I don't think it supports wireless as you don't mention other options and it's not mentioned in the manual.

Your best option is to buy wireless triggers.
01-23-2014, 10:19 AM   #3

Original Poster
sterretje
Have you used them before? If so any suggestions on brand. Would I just be better off returning the Sigma flash and getting one that does support wireless? Thanks for any advice.
01-23-2014, 10:25 AM   #4
Veteran Member

Easy answer - Yes, no problem. Go to B&H and enter the word "slave" into their search box. There, you'll find everything from inexpensive optical slaves to Pocket Wizards.
Optical slaves are basically hot shoes that have an eye that looks for light coming from another flash, sometimes called the "master." The light from the master flash (you can use the built-in flash on your K-30) enters the eye of the slave, hits a solar cell which generates enough power to trigger the flash that it's attached to. It does all of this at the speed of light and without the need of any power source. The base of the slave is usually threaded to accept some kind of an adapter to then be screwed into a light stand or even a tripod head.