Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
02-01-2014, 03:58 AM   #1

Photos: Albums
Using P/K zoom lenses on K-5

Hi All,

I am new to DSLRs and have been buying film era manual lenses (Rikenon 50mm/1.7 K mount, Ozunon 28mm/2.8 M42 mount, Vivitar 200mm/3.5 K mount and Sun 35-200/3.8-5.3 P/K mount) to work with my Pentax.

I am really happy to see that my 2012 made K-5 works with a 1984 lens. This shows how much of a responsible company Pentax as a DSLR mfg company is. Now, my small little question,

1) What focal length should I feed into the K-5, when I mount my K mount manual 35-200 Sun made lens? I mean should I switch the camera on and off several times if I change focal lengths for different photos. Boy, that would be some task to do on this heavy lens-camera combination.

What is the importance of putting the right focal length for manual lenses?

Thanks in advance...

Cheers,
Ankur

02-01-2014, 04:21 AM   #2

Actually the reason for putting in the focal length is so that it can help with the in-camera share reduction. So for example, a 50mm prime lens will require a bit more stabilization than a 28mm lens, since the latter is wider. If you find it a hassle to keep changing the focal lengths, you can switch off the SR, it works fine too.
02-01-2014, 06:08 AM   #3
Loyal Site Supporter
Loyal Site Supporter

Photos: Gallery | Albums
Been there done that...finally ended up with newer AF lenses. Moreover, the optical coatings of older lenses do have limitations when used with modern day DSLRs....
02-01-2014, 07:31 AM   #4

Original Poster
Thanks guys !!

Thanks guys for your time and suggestions...My question is still un answered about what to feed my K-5 for the 35-200 zoom? If it is for Shake reduction then putting the 200 mm length will increase shake reduction capabilities which should be a good thing even if I am taking a photo of anywhere between 35-200 mm.

I am looking for more expert opinions !!