Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
02-12-2014, 05:04 AM   #1

Help and advice for new *ist DL2 user

HI all, first post - be gentle

I'm a complete novice when it comes to photography, but I've just bought a second-hand *ist DL2. ( I've actually bought a couple of older Pentax film cameras as well, but invested in the DL2 to keep film and processing costs down while I learn my way around manual shooting.)

I have two questions related to the DL2 at the moment:
  1. My camera currently has the default v1 firmware installed. Is it worth upgrading? Just wondering if there are any horror stories I should be aware of before embarking...
  2. In aperture priority mode, using older A series lenses in manual focus and with the aperture ring set to 'A', the shutter sometimes seems reluctant to fire. I think it's only firing when focus is achieved - is there any way to force the shutter to fire whatever the focus?

Thanks in advance.

Tim

02-12-2014, 05:46 AM   #2
Administrator
Site Webmaster

Photos: Gallery | Albums
QuoteOriginally posted by DaveBonus Quote
My camera currently has the default v1 firmware installed. Is it worth upgrading? Just wondering if there are any horror stories I should be aware of before embarking...
The firmware update will allow you to use SDHC cards, so yes you should update. Here is the guide:
Pentax Firmware Update Guide - Pentax Tutorial Videos - PentaxForums.com

Standard SD cards are very hard to come by these days, but if your card is under 4Gb then it should fit the bill. Larger cards can't be used without updating the firmware.

In aperture priority mode, using older A series lenses in manual focus and with the aperture ring set to 'A', the shutter sometimes seems reluctant to fire. I think it's only firing when focus is achieved - is there any way to force the shutter to fire whatever the focus?
Set the focus mode to AF.C in the menu and it will always fire.

Adam