Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
02-16-2014, 10:25 AM   #1

K-50 kit lens unsharp

After many months waiting for Pentax/Ricoh to come to its senses, I finally jumped into the pool just before Christmas and purchased a red (!) K-50 at a very good price via an Amazon vendor. I am still learning to use all of its well-regarded features, but one stands out: the kit 18-55mm lens is quite soft in AF-S mode and Auto. When compared with my other Pentax or K-mount lenses, it's quite apparent. My Sigma 28-70 and another Sigma 28-80 lens are sharper, and so is even a Tamron 100-300mm! For the past several weeks I have tried everything to maximize the focusing capability of the kit lens. The AF Fine Adjustment for the lens seems to settle on -5 as the best image (I magnify the images in Photoshop to 600% or more). My other lenses check in at other values: Tamron zoom goes at 0 (no Fine Adjustment needed), and the Sigma zooms run to around +2. The best focus is achieved with a Pentax 50mm prime, a kit lens from some time in the SF1N era. It also needs noFine Adjustment. I have downloaded two different lens testing images, done the 5-battery lineup described elsewhere as the easiest way to check focus and - of course - use a tripod and a cable release. I do want to find the best autofocus setting, but I am hesitant to assume the problem is with the camera itself. What do you think?

02-16-2014, 10:58 AM   #2
Pentaxian

Photos: Gallery | Albums
QuoteOriginally posted by buessi Quote
I do want to find the best autofocus setting, but I am hesitant to assume the problem is with the camera itself. What do you think?
The contrast-detect autofocus (CDAF) that you have in live view
will sidestep many of the potential front/back focus inaccuracies
that are inherent to phase-detect autofocus.

So I would recommend seeing how your images look when using CDAF.

That said, the kit lenses are mass-produced cheaply,