Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version 17 Likes Search this Thread
02-18-2014, 01:45 PM   #1

New to all this.....& problems already!! Please help.

Hi...I'm new to DSLRs (just had a point & shoot), new to the forum & new to Pentax!! That's why I need some help!!.. I received a K20D today via ebay UK auction. On looking through the viewfinder it has several 'specks' - and appears to give a general 'dirty' view. Am I looking through a dirty mirror/glass? How should I rectify this problem.
Also I took a few photos and downloaded direct from the SDHC card (wanted to check it wasn't a dirty sensor), however my Windows Live Photo Gallery says the format isn't supported...think they are DNG/RAW files?? Help, I am a complete technophobe!!....Is there someone with the patience of a saint in the UK who I could perhaps phone if need be. Many thanks & kind regards. John.
ps. just downloaded a free DNG to JPEG converter, but had to apply this to individual photographs

02-18-2014, 01:58 PM - 1 Like   #2
Veteran Member

Hi

Download and install these first:

1. Download FastStone Image Viewer (Free RAW editor/ viewer).

2. Download Microsoft Camera Codec Pack (16.4.1970.0624) from Official Microsoft Download Center (Since you mentioned Windows Live Photo Gallery).

Clean the lens and as well as the viewfinder with a dry cloth. Hope it helps.

Cheers!

---------- Post added 02-18-14 at 09:59 PM ----------

Sorry! Welcome to the forum and enjoy your stay and that camera...
02-18-2014, 02:00 PM - 1 Like   #3
Site Supporter
Site Supporter

Photos: Gallery | Albums
The camera settings allow you to specify what format, go into the menu and change to JPEG until you become familiar with the advantages of DNG RAW format.

Viewfinders tend to accumulate dust on the focusing screen depending on how the camera was used. These specs will not affect the pictures, only sensor dust will apear on pictures.