Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version 22 Likes Search this Thread
02-20-2014, 02:24 PM   #1

Running two systems?

Hi all,

I'm relatively new to the DSLR world, and started with a D3200 last year. I really liked the camera, and used it a lot over the summer - great quality pics, and a great camera to learn the basics on. I know some find it a bit small, but I have slender hands, and it worked for me. To the kit lens I've added a 35mm and a 55-300mm.

When first looking, I'd thought about the K-30, but went for Nikon as a brand I recognised more.

However, as winter approached, and I realised just how much I enjoyed photography, I worried more and more about using my lovely D3200 outside in bad weather. By chance, I was looking in a local store at the time the K-50 was coming along, and the K-30 was significantly reduced. On a whim, I bought one. Just for outdoor, bad weather photography. (Yes, I know, it GAS, but hey!).

Anyway, cutting a long story shorter, I now find I love my K-30 as much as my D3200. in fact a little bit more. Having learned so much on the D3200 (I'll never knock it), the K-30 seems a great progression. I've since added a Pentax 50mm to my kit lens.

So now I have two starter systems. I know that the lenses are the key issue, and that I will progress my photography over the years by changing and upgrading bodies. However, should I ditch Nikon now, and just run with Pentax. Or should I run both for another year or so?

Anyone else out there running two systems. Or faced a similar predicament?

thanks,

02-20-2014, 02:31 PM - 1 Like   #2
Veteran Member

Photos: Gallery | Albums
QuoteOriginally posted by kentishrev Quote
Hi all,