Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version 1 Like Search this Thread
03-10-2014, 07:04 PM   #1

Advice on Lens for NY trip

First trip to the Big Apple and wanted to get some opinions on lens choice. Going to be there this week and there is rain and snow in the forecast so of my lenses listed below I'm leaning towards the DA18-135 WR, DA15 and maybe the Rokinon 8mm Fisheye for fun. Also, would you carry a tripod - I'm thinking yes if I want to try some night shots - just not sure how safe it is to be carrying around this equipment in NY (using the subway and buses as means of transportation) and using it on a tripod at night.

Lenses I own (in case you can't see my signature): DA15, FA31, DFA 100 WR, DA 18-55 WR, DA 18-135 WR and Rokinon 8mm Fisheye..

I'm new to DSLR photography and definitely never really taken pictures in any large cites. Plan on taking pictures of architecture around the city and most likely inside of buildings where allowed. Do the museums allow photography?

Any opinions would be appreciated.

03-10-2014, 07:21 PM - 1 Like   #2
Pentaxian

Photos: Gallery
QuoteOriginally posted by azrickster Quote
Lenses I own (in case you can't see my signature): DA15, FA31, DFA 100 WR, DA 18-55 WR, DA 18-135 WR and Rokinon 8mm Fisheye..

I went for eight days - took the 10-17 fisheye, 12-24 and 17-70. Only a handful of times did I wish I had a longer lens.

I would recommend the 8, 15 and 18-135. No tripod. I had to check in my little 6'' minipod at the Empire State building, though my complete bag of stuff was otherwise OK :-(

If you want to see about 1,300 NYC photos, here they are...

SpecialK's Gallery - SlickPic
03-10-2014, 07:55 PM   #3
Veteran Member

Photos: Gallery | Albums