Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
03-13-2014, 08:18 PM   #1
Forum Member

Manual lens that won't change aperture on camera

I recently bought on fleabay a manual K-mount lens for my K-5 II, a Cosina 35mm f/2.8 similar to this one Cosina 35mm f2.8 Cosinon W MC Lens Reviews - Cosina Lenses - Pentax Lens Review Database.

The problem I'm having is that the camera won't change the aperture when shooting (or checking metering/DOF). I know the camera should be able to do it because I have another manual lens that works fine, but this one is stuck open at 2.8. Off the body, the aperture ring works perfectly. On the body, it never changes (I've tested it by putting the camera in M mode, taking a shot at f/2.8, then taking another at f/22, and they are identical). Any suggestions? Am I just missing something (I'm new to Pentax)?

03-13-2014, 08:28 PM   #2
Inactive Account

Photos: Albums
The mount is anodized black and non-conductive, it must be conductive to work correctly on newer Pentax DSLRs.

The body is assuming it is an adapted M42 lens, so it doesn't attempt to release the aperture lever. Remove the anodizing or add some conductive foil so the contacts of the body are shorted so it will see it as an M lens and work as expected.
03-13-2014, 08:30 PM   #3
Site Supporter

Photos: Gallery
I don't use manual lenses, but this is the tip in the review...

Set the aperture on the lens then just before shooting press AE lock to meter/set the shutter speed. (Green button on some cameras).
03-13-2014, 08:31 PM   #4
Forum Member

Original Poster
QuoteOriginally posted by elliott Quote
The mount is anodized black and non-conductive, it must be conductive to work correctly on newer Pentax DSLRs.