Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
03-16-2014, 05:38 AM   #1

Total newby here

We just got a K-50, our first DSLR. We're just using AF for now, until we figure out how the rest of it works (any suggestions for a good basic book we can get?). We were really happy with what we were getting, but in the last week the colors have gone all wonky. Everything seems too yellow. Here is an example (hope I actually attached it)... I realize this is a crud picture, I was just taking a comparison shot to show how much the puppy had grown. I read about white balance, but that should be taken care of in AF, shouldn't it? Since we haven't had this problem until now, I'm wondering if somehow we've accidentally changed something. Can anyone help? Thanks!

Attached Images

03-16-2014, 06:34 AM   #2
Veteran Member

Photos: Gallery
Reversal Film instead of Natural? (IIRC it's the right button on the directional pad). Or maybe the White Balance is set to a specific setting (Left button).
03-16-2014, 06:41 AM   #3
Pentaxian

Photos: Gallery | Albums
Before choosing a book, you can try out some of the online training courses... here is one....

Lesson 1 ? Intent | BestPhotoLessons
03-16-2014, 07:03 AM   #4
Inactive Account

Pentax K-50 & K-500 e-book

Yvonne's books are great, informative, easy to read, and written by a Pentaxian. I bought his K10D book immediately after buying the camera. I actually have a hard copy paperback, spiraol bound book. When I just recently upgraded to a K5II, I bought his book on it before the camera arrived. Of course now they are E-books only. Certainly worth the couple of dollars he charges for the book.

P.S. I have no connection to /. with Yvonne other than as a satisfied customer.

---------- Post added 03-16-14 at 10:10 AM ----------

OBTW,
It looks to me like it is definately a white balance problem. You probably changed away from "Auto White Balance" by accident.

03-16-2014, 07:31 AM   #5