Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version 4 Likes Search this Thread
03-17-2014, 07:32 AM   #1

Best way to tackle a manual lens?

Hi all,

I'm quite new to my dslr and have been having a great time figuring things out with your help.
I have a k-x and my lenses so far include:
-SMC pentax FA 50mm f1.7

-Tamron AF 24-135mm f/3.5-5.6 SP AD aspherical (IF)

-SMC pentax FA 100mm f3.5 AF Macro

And I just purchased my first manual lens:
-Takumar-A 28mm f2.8

I'm excited to learn how to work with the manual and wondering if you guys have any tips for beginners.

Some extra info: I typically shoot in raw, using aperture priority or manual. I'm still very new to photoshop and the editing process, figuring it out along the way.

Thanks!

03-17-2014, 07:46 AM   #2
Veteran Member

QuoteOriginally posted by dfeld Quote
I'm excited to learn how to work with the manual and wondering if you guys have any tips for beginners
I actually find manual lenses much easier than auto focus lenses!
No selection of focus points, no hunting for focus in low light, etc... You just turn that wheel until it looks right to you :-)
Of course this can happen to make you miss some shots, if we are talking moving subjects, but for non-moving stuff... I love it!
Just go out there and take as many pictures as you can, learning on the way.

But that's just my view on it, and I am a noob as well... so... ;-)
03-17-2014, 07:48 AM   #3
Veteran Member

Photos: Gallery | Albums
Hey there!

There are a couple threads about the technical parts - how to mount an adapter, how to meter with an A lens, etc. So search for those if you need that kind of info.
What I would say is to simple put the aperture ring to A position (you probably have to push a little button on the aperture ring for it to lock into A). Now you have aperture control on your camera and you can use Av mode normally