Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
03-23-2014, 10:54 PM   #1
Forum Member

Photos: Albums
Where do I go from here?

So, I've been shooting seriously ( seriously amateur) for about a year now, and i have taken thousands + of pictures. I have at least a few pictures that are not completely terrible. I have learned about printing and successfully printed some various sizes for friends and family and now they are hanging on walls, yay! Now the question comes, how do I start to make a name in my local community, or internet world? I made a fb page that is not quite at 100 likes, and I have an instagram blah blah that I can usually get 20-30 likes if that. I do not think I am a great photographer, but I would like to get involved, mostly so that I can get wisdom from experienced photographers and critics alike. Maybe one day I get a picture on a cover of a magazine, maybe not, wuteva. My question is, where do i go now to start moving into the public eye? Thanks!

03-23-2014, 11:26 PM   #2
Loyal Site Supporter

Photos: Gallery | Albums
I volunteer to take pictures. Word of mouth is a wonderful thing, and I get to add to my portfolio. Theatre groups always need publicity shots of their latest production, and free is in their budget. When I see an artist painting a mural (a common practice here to combat graffiti), I volunteer to photograph it. My neighbor builds low-riders. I have shot pics of his last four projects. I think he uses them in his FOR SALE ads.

I am not a pro. I'm just retired and trying to justify owning the gear. I could take photos all day long for free. Dealing with people, that costs money.
03-23-2014, 11:27 PM   #3
Site Supporter

What are your goals?
Make pocket money? Look at shooting for stock.
Become famous? Volunteer at community events.
Quit your day job and go pro? Tough road, find a mentor.
Hang out with other photographers? Join a camera club.
03-24-2014, 01:23 AM   #4
Forum Member