Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
03-25-2014, 05:02 PM   #1

Photos: Gallery
K-50 focusing in distance -- capabilities?

Hi, I'm new to DSLR (and this forum), but have enjoyed point-and-shoot photography for about 40 years. I just bought the K-50 and am hoping it will be the right camera for me. In addition to the 18-55mm kit lens, it came with a 50-200mm. I've had it a few weeks and am still studying the manual.

For now, I'm trying to focus on small objects (like an animal or a tree) in the distance, maybe 100-200 feet or more. I don't expect a lot from the lens that came with the camera, but I'm want to figure out what settings to use to get the best image and to see what the camera can do in the distance. (I would be cropping the image close to the subject of interest.) I've tried different settings for the autofocus, but haven't tried manual focusing yet. I just started experimenting with the settings for the focusing point (the user "select" option) and Aperture Priority mode. I take other sorts of photos, but my current concern is what it can do at longer distances. I'm not going to invest in a telephoto lens until I know what it can do with what I have. So far, it doesn't seem like I'm getting much better images of distant subjects than with my point-and-shoot 8MP 6X zoom camera.

My two basic questions are about which sort of settings to try for distance shooting, and what I can expect with my 50-200mm lens.

Thanks!

EJ

03-25-2014, 06:50 PM - 1 Like   #2
Pentaxian

Photos: Gallery | Albums
Welcome to the forum, and the vast new world of DSLR photography.

I have my K-50 set to the center focus point, so I always know what it will focus on.
However, remember that there is a fairly large area where the camera will look for focus,
basically one-ninth of the rectangle you see in the middle third of the viewfinder.

The PDAF or "phase-detect autofocus" when you look through the viewfinder is fast,