Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
04-02-2014, 06:58 AM   #1

Good Books for beginners

My husband has just bought me a K-30 as a present but I have only used a bridge camera up until now. Most of the books and magazines seem more for the canon cameras - are there any good beginners books which are more general. I am really a beginner so nothing too technical.

Thank You

04-02-2014, 07:15 AM   #2
Site Supporter
Site Supporter

Photos: Gallery | Albums
Welcome to the forum! There are a lot of books out there for novice photographers (sounds better than noob!) and some are much better than others. While some of these books may show canikon cameras the basics are the same. Some good authors are Scott Kelby, Tom Ang, and Michael Freeman to name but a few. Try this link to 10 Best Photography Books for Beginners. I wish you the best in your pursuit of photography and look forward to seeing your images.

BTW, I've been reading similar books for 50 years and still do. Never stop learning.

Last edited by wtlwdwgn; 04-02-2014 at 07:37 AM.
04-02-2014, 07:39 AM   #3
Loyal Site Supporter
Loyal Site Supporter

Photos: Gallery | Albums
That's a great link. No. 1 there are the three Scott Kelby books. I recommend them and the first one in particular. Another good one is this one. The BetterPhoto Guide to Exposure | Sean Arbabi | Commercial Photographer – Author
04-02-2014, 08:41 AM   #4

Photos: Albums
You may also look into Yvon Bourque's e-books, as has been suggested in these forums previously.

04-02-2014, 08:42 AM   #5
Pentaxian

The one book I recommend to beginners is Bryan Petersen's "Understanding Exposure". Easy to understand, plain language and most of what you need to know. I've lent my copy out numerous times. It is brand agnostic.
04-02-2014, 09:08 AM - 1 Like   #6
Veteran Member

Photos: Gallery