Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
04-04-2014, 10:17 AM   #1

Pentax K1000 lenses

I've been using film cameras on and off for a few years now but I still consider myself a n00b since I don't now how to exactly work everything on my cameras. I havent shot film in awhile and I really want to get back into it this summer. I own a Minolta XG-A & Pentax K1000 and both of them need repairs but I keep putting it off. For my Pentax, the problem is with the lens, so I figure I can at least buy a new lens (plus I prefer it to my Minolta) in the meantime. (I'm at work right now so I can't tell you what kind of lens I currently have at the moment but I'm assuming it's whatever comes standard with it)

There are too many lenses out there and I need some help. I've tried to do research in the past and have started researching again but I'm afraid I don't have enough technical knowledge on the subject to find a suitable lens. I've been looking at lens database (Pentax Lenses - Pentax Lens Reviews & Lens Database) while searching for particular lenses on eBay. I just want a good solid lens - no fisheye, zoom or macro lens - and preferably one not too big or heavy . I mostly enjoy taking pictures outside of scenery, I'm not interested in portraits so much. I want to purchase one on the cheaper side for now (under $100) but I would like to purchase a more expensive one in the future.

Instead of just picking a lens with a high rating on the lens review guide, can you lovely people please give me some insight on how to pick a proper lens? Or tell me your own favorites lenses to use? I'm just overwhelmed by all the information out there!

Some of my photos, there's plenty of bad photos in the bunch but some I really enjoy: https://www.flickr.com/photos/electrotecture/sets/72157626343607344/

04-04-2014, 11:28 AM - 1 Like   #2
Administrator
Site Webmaster

Photos: Gallery | Albums