Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
04-13-2014, 07:19 AM   #1

Photos: Gallery
Samyang 14mm Focus to Infinity Photo Sample Test

I'm having some difficulties with focusing samyang 14mm to infinity since it doesn't have a hard stop infinity focus and other metering options are pretty not calibrated. So I took one indoor and one outdoor random photo and compared the results between f2.8 to f11. As you can see below it's really confusing. I'm really no expert at DOF calibration so I did this very primitive comparison test.

Please share your thoughts and help me decide to find the right spot for infinity at various F-stops.
And most people say there is two different type of samyang 14mm. one is sharp lens other is soft lens. I don't think I have the sharp one.

Last edited by Nitrogliserin; 04-13-2014 at 07:33 AM.
04-13-2014, 07:28 AM   #2
Pentaxian

Photos: Gallery | Albums
Yeah, I have the same problem. My Samyang 14mm has miscalibrated distance scales, but looking through viewfinder or liveview I can't notice when it focuses to true infinity. And pixel peeping later is too confusing.
What I heard is a good alternative is to buy a TC and focus on an object that is around 1-2m away (measure the distance between sensor and object. Sensor is lens mount+4.5cm). Calibrate to that object and the rest should fall into place.
But I haven't tried it myself, I just rely on the DoF. Which is not always possible.
04-13-2014, 07:38 AM   #3

Original Poster
I've seen that solution but haven't tried yet. From my test it seems the infinity is center point between 3 meters and infinity mark but can I rely on that? I'm not sure.
Why most lenses still don't have hard stop infinity focus anway? I recently bought Sigma 17-70C and the correct infinity is at 2 meters.
04-13-2014, 08:10 AM   #4
Veteran Member

Not about this lens but it may give you some ideas.

Review of the Zenitar 16mm 2.8