Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
04-14-2014, 07:13 PM   #1

Equipment and Settings Suggestions?

Hey Everyone, I am new to DSLR scene and bought a Pentax K-r a few years ago for an A-level photography course (which unfortunately I didn't pay much attention in ) The photography course also required a film camera, and I managed to pick up a cheap Pentax MX SLR with multiple lenses.
Here is a list of my current equipment:
Camera's:
Pentax K-r DSLR
Pentax MX Film SLR

Auto Lenses:
smc Pentax - DA L 1:3.5-5.6 18-55mm AL (kit lens that came with the K-r)
smc Pentax - DA L 1:4-5.6 50-200mm ED

Prime Lenses:
smc Pentax- M 1:2.8 28mm
smc Pentax- M 1:1.7 50mm (came with Pentax MX)
Hoya HMC Tele-Auto f=200mm 1:3.5 (Came with Pentax MX)
Vivitar MC Telephoto f=400mm 1:5.6 (came with Pentax MX)

I also Have a Set of Vivitar Automatic Extension Tubes AT-22 (12mm, 20mm, 36mm [68mm Total]) and a Vivitar Zoom thyristor 285 Flashgun (which also came with the Pentax MX).

I'm looking into trying macro photography, so was wondering if anyone could suggest a good set up for my equipment? (preferably with the K-r, not so keen on film) I've looked into it and unfortunately don't understand some the of the "technical lingo" about the subject of photography, so if anyone could fill me in that would be most appreciated I recently discovered a macro photography called Thomas Shahan, and I really like his work and its exactly the kind of images I want to achieve. He says he uses a 28mm prime reversed on a set of extension tubes with a flash and flash diffuser. I don't understand my vivitar flashgun as its all manual settings (it was just thrown in, I didn't really want it) so was looking at getting a Metz 44 AF-1 Flashgun, What do you guys think?