Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
04-17-2014, 08:56 PM   #1

Moire in view finder only and fuzzy look through view finder

Hi - I'm VERY new to DSLR's i got my first one a couple of months ago and have been take pictures pretty much every day. I am slowly muddling my way through all the things I have to learn but I have a couple of questions which I was hoping to get some help with

As of yesterday I started noticing what looks like a spider web pattern when I look through the view finder - I thought it was moire (I have a K5 IIs) and snapped a few pictures because I was curious- but the effect does not show up in the pictures, only when I look through the lens. I googled this and the article I looked at said I am probably viewing the laser etched glass focusing screen....ok but....

My question is why am I only seeing this now? I have not changed my lens (I only have one) I have not changed where I am shooting. It is really distracting - sometimes it only comes up in certain areas of the view finders sometimes it basically covers the whole viewfinder. It is driving me crazy Is there anyway I can get rid of it? Minimize it?

Also at the same time I noticed the view through the view finder looks hazy- sort of dark - honestly it wasn't like this before. I read a bit about this on the forum and it seems this is normal but it seems odd to me that the haze and the moire like pattern turn up the same time. I have played with the Diopter and it hasn't improved things. So it is probably normal.

Thanks everyone - looking forward to your responses !

04-17-2014, 09:45 PM   #2
Administrator
Site Webmaster

Photos: Gallery | Albums
QuoteOriginally posted by Indy78 Quote