Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
05-05-2014, 02:38 AM   #121
Veteran Member

Photos: Gallery
QuoteOriginally posted by DSims Quote
You won't be able to demonstrate that a photo of a runner or soccer player in full motion at 1/160 or 1/180s will ever freeze the motion as well as 1/800 or 1/1250s. You won't be able to produce the photos to prove it. But go ahead and try - we're all waiting to see the example photos!

So you can give all kinds of great technical explanations, but it won't work because you're leaving something critical out of your theory.

And my rather weird, example "translation" was simply to say that you are stating some small truth that doesn't really count for much when viewed in perspective, compared to the whole picture.

In case you were wondering, I've never tried that before either (that is, getting into an accident while picking my nose)!

This is terrible advice for a beginner. While it's conceivable there's some small advantage to using 1/180s compared to 1/250s on a Pentax, it will never freeze fast motion going in a different direction than you're panning the camera (if you're even doing that), so you have to stick to the standard rules of about 1/640 to 1/1600s minimum shutter speed if you want to freeze all the action in the frame.
"So you can give all kinds of great technical explanations, but it won't work because you're leaving something critical out of your theory."

i'll be the first to accept this, but it would be interesting to know what it is i'm leaving out

the theory here is indeed a bit non-intuitive, and it might not apply to many situations (like movement which is "composed", as i noted, not predominantly in one direction -- like the hokey examples). most of my experience with action shooting is rally (which is very different form hokey or runners etc), i agree without a test the "theory" is questionable.