Pentax Camera Forums Home

View Poll Results: I'd go for...
Pentax DA 50mm/f1.8 3331.73%
Pentax DA 35mm/f2.4 AL 7168.27%
Voters: 104. You may not vote on this poll

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
04-28-2014, 06:44 AM   #1
Forum Member

My first prime lens: Pentax DA 50mm/f1.8 vs DA 35mm/f2.4 AL?

As the title says, I need some help choosing my 1st prime lens.
After extensive research, I've narrowed it down to these 2 lenses, mostly for the image quality / price ratio. I'm basically looking for more sharpness, low light performance and an all around better image quality than the kit lens, in exchange for the zoom capability. It's also essential that the lens has AF because it's next to impossible to focus on such a small viewfinder IMO, even one with a pentaprism mirror.
Also, seeing as how I'm just starting out, I'm not looking to spend much. Hence my choice of primes.
I plan to mostly use the lens for landscape,low light, and portrait photography... maybe some street photography mixed in.
So, which one would you recommend and why?
And if they were the same focal length, which one would be the better lens when it comes to image quality?

Also, I'm a little confused with the 50mm lens vs APS-C sensor... Thing. I've read somewhere that the 50mm prime lens is the equivalent of a 76mm on a APS-C, and only 50mm on a full frame sensor. But isn't the Pentax DA 50mm/f1.8 made for a APS-C sensor? Why would it be 76mm then? Now, I've tried the 50mm setting on my kit 18-55mm lens, and that zoom level seems to be acceptable for what I plan to use it for. However, if this lens will appear as 76mm on my kit lens, than that is WAY too much zoom for general use IMO.. again, I'm kind of new at this so if anyone can help clear this out for me, I'd appreciate it.

04-28-2014, 06:57 AM - 1 Like   #2
Site Supporter
Site Supporter

Photos: Gallery | Albums