Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
05-02-2014, 05:03 AM   #1

Action lens recommendation

hi all
I am completely new to pentax camera's and I have a K500 (bought accidentally, wanted k5 for the WR, but never mind) and still a real beginner with DSLR
Anyway, I have been looking at a few lenses, as I am into bird watching and also motorsport and other sports, so need something with some range. (did have a canon DSLR and a 200mm lens which wasn't long enough)
I have a budget of 250, might be able to squeeze to 350, but that would be a real push.
I have got my eye on
  1. Sigma 28-300mm DG Macro F3.5-6.3DG
  2. Sigma 70-300mm F4-5.6 APO DG MACRO
  3. PENTAX SMC DA 55-300mm f4-5.8 ED

Would anyone recommend any of these, or recommend others? I need something with a bit of range
thanks

05-02-2014, 05:14 AM   #2
K-9
Pentaxian

Photos: Albums
I would also consider the Tamron 70-300mm.
05-02-2014, 06:04 AM   #3

I have not tried the Sigma 28-300, but I've used all the others, including the Tamron. Truthfully, they all perform so closely to one another that it almost doesn't matter which one you buy. Just look for the best deal. They are all mushy wide open. They all get significantly better when stopped down to F/5.6 or 6.3. I've compared shots from all 3 of these lenses and it's virtually impossible to tell which one took which picture. The Pentax is a little smaller, which may count for something, but it is also the most expensive. All of the lenses that go to 300mm in this price range suffer from the same issues with sharpness and CA. They are all "budget" telephotos and none of them are stellar performers, especially when you start pixel peeping. Fortunately, they can produce good results under the right circumstances and as long as you don't try to print the images too large.