Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
05-03-2014, 12:20 AM   #1

Fiber Optic Cleaners For Sensor

I have a new to me K200 that I just got this week. In playing with it I find this when I do the Dust Alert check. I have ran the dust removal shaker a few times with no effect. I even tried a couple of different lenses to make sure that wasn't the issue.

Now I happen to work in the telecom field and have a bunch of fiber optic cleaning gear in my kit. Would something like the Cletop sticks pictured along with the solutions and pads from a Rainbow Fiber Optic Cleaning Kit work on the sensor?

This is my first DSLR so I'm still learning. If these things won't work I may just take it to the camera shop in Oklahoma City and have them clean it.

Attached Images
View Picture EXIF
PENTAX K200D  Photo 
View Picture EXIF
PENTAX K200D  Photo 
05-03-2014, 04:10 AM   #2
Pentaxian

I don't think I would risk it.. First get yourself a Rocket Blower or something similar.( I used to use an Ear wax removal bulb, not as efficient) and an appropriate Sensor cleaning kit. I would first try to blow the dust off of the mirror while the camera is in Sensor Cleaning mode. Take a few shots on white paper and see if that takes care of the dust. If not then you can take it to a camera shop for cleaning or if you want to attempt it yourself then get a sensor cleaning kit.

A. you don't know if those swabs would scratch the sensor surface as I would imagine fibre optics are a bit more tough than a delicate sensor.
B. You don't know if the chemicals would damage the sensor
05-03-2014, 05:44 AM   #3

Original Poster
That's why I was wondering if anyone had used them before. I don't want to take a chance on messing this up. I do need to get a blower of some sort. I'll swing by Wally World today and see what I can find.
05-03-2014, 05:48 AM   #4
Site Supporter
Site Supporter

Photos: Gallery