Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
05-12-2014, 11:28 AM   #1

*istD Problems

Well it turns out my $25 pawn shop special isn't a great of a deal as I thought it was. I got a chance to sit down and RTFM yesterday and play with it a bit and have found that it has the known battery issue where it doesn't show a full charge with fresh rechargables or brand new Enegizer Ultimate Lithum AA's. I haven't tried a set of CR3's yet though. But the bigest issue is it will not shoot a picture if the flash it popped up. Also in auto mode the flash will not pop up on it's own when it is needed. I got it to shoot by setting the option to take a picture while the flash is charging in the options menu with the flash up but that was it. I haven't tried an external flash on the hot shoe yet as I don't have one. Hopefully that will be the easy way around this little problem.

Does anyone know if this is a easily fixed issue? I'm an electronics tech and have no problems taking it down to doing board level component repair myself. It's not really worth it to me to send if off for reapir as I didn't spend much on it and also have a K200D.

This thing takes some nice pictures as long as you have enough light, so if I can't get a working flash it my just be a daytime camera. I may even end up giving it to my 10yr old boy for taking along on his Boy Scout events instead of his little point and shoot.

05-12-2014, 12:50 PM   #2
Pentaxian

Try CR3s - I always got best performance with my *istDS using CR3s
05-12-2014, 01:23 PM   #3
Pentaxian

Photos: Gallery | Albums