Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
05-19-2014, 12:47 PM   #1
Site Supporter

Soft Focus

Hello to all,

I always seem to have a slightly softer focus than I would like, and quite honestly more than I would get with my Canon t2i. I just cannot seem to get the focus just right with my new k500. Is it operator error since I am new to Pentax lenses and cameras, or did anyone else have these issues when first jumping into Pentax? I feel like it is operator error, especially on manual focus—but I don't seem to get the focus I want in auto either, even in "select" mode—so any tips would be fantastic as to getting that focus efficiently when shooting on set. Thank you in advance for the help.

J.G.

05-19-2014, 12:53 PM   #2
Administrator
Site Webmaster

Photos: Gallery | Albums
Can you post some samples showing the problem? Soft images can be caused for a variety of reasons.

Adam
PentaxForums.com Webmaster (Site Usage Guide | Site Help | My Photography)

PentaxForums.com's high server and development costs are user-supported. You can help cover those costs by donating. Or, buy your photo gear from our affiliates, Adorama, B&H Photo, or Topaz Labs, and get FREE Marketplace access - click here to see how! Trusted Pentax retailers:

05-19-2014, 01:23 PM   #3
Pentaxian

Pentax gear is no more prone to getting soft images than any other system.
Are you sure it's not camera shake rather than OOF?
Try setting the mode to Tv and select a shutter speed above the focal length, ISO on Auto then squeeze off a few shots, see how that looks.
05-19-2014, 01:27 PM   #4
Site Supporter

Original Poster