Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version 1 Like Search this Thread
05-28-2014, 06:05 PM   #1
Forum Member

Think I might of wasted $10 ...

Staff note: This post may contain affiliate links, which means Pentax Forums may earn a small commission if a visitor clicks through and makes a purchase. If you would like to support the forum directly, you may also make a donation here.

Just arrived today a 2x screw on conversion lens. Now realistically I wasn't expecting super quality for $10 inc shipping BUT not being able to get anything resembling focus was disappointing. It also made me think since I am new to this that maybe I am missing something (hopefully?) I did manage to get a very soft focus at between 70-90mm with center clearer (but not even truly focused). Also seemed to have a bit of a fish eye look. Using k-50 with 55-300mm wr lens for @ 20 min after work today trying both AF and MF, varying focal length and distance.
Any tips on what I might have missed or do I chalk this up to u get what u pay for
Thanks for any insight.

05-28-2014, 06:22 PM   #2
Administrator
Site Webmaster

Photos: Gallery | Albums
What kind of lens is it? Screw-on magnifiers designed for macro can only be used for close-ups, for instance.

If you want decent image quality for tele shots, you'll want to get a rear teleconverter, even if it's a cheap one.

Adam
PentaxForums.com Webmaster (Site Usage Guide | Site Help | My Photography)

PentaxForums.com server and development costs are user-supported. You can help cover these costs by donating or purchasing one of our Pentax eBooks. Or, buy your photo gear from our affiliates, Adorama, B&H Photo, KEH, or Topaz Labs, and get FREE Marketplace access - click here to see how! Trusted Pentax retailers:
05-28-2014, 06:47 PM   #3
Pentaxian

Photos: Gallery
QuoteOriginally posted by remark13 Quote
Any tips on what I might have missed or do I chalk this up to u get what u pay for
Thanks for any insight.