Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version 2 Likes Search this Thread
05-31-2014, 11:21 AM   #1
Site Supporter
Site Supporter

Photos: Gallery | Albums
*istD displays flashing Av in all modes - Solved!

Hi - I've been shooting my old *istD with manual lenses for many years. These days I use the camera almost exclusively with completely manual K, M, & 3rd party lenses, of course using M mode & green button metering. Today I took my Zenitar 16 out with my *istD, but I get a flashing Av on the top LCD in all shooting modes, including M. I can set iso, white balance, etc on the control wheel as usual. The camera behaves this way with any manual lens that lacks contacts, except for my Vivitar 135/2.8, which has a black anodized mount. That lens has always worked with the istD, except it lacks focus confirmation in the VF. I *can* use the Vivitar in the camera's present state, along with my A, and AF lenses, which have contacts.

Anyone know what's happening here? I cleaned off the camera's contacts with a bit of rubbing alcohol, but with the same results. Again, I get a flashing Av in the top LCD, using any shooting mode with any manual lens lacking contacts. The one exception is the Vivitar 135 with the anodized mount. Thanks!

Last edited by paulh; 06-02-2014 at 01:19 PM.
06-02-2014, 10:56 AM - 1 Like   #2
Site Supporter
Site Supporter

My idea is something is up with the position of the arm that moves the lens's aperture lever - possibly it moves too far now.The arm only moves between "fully open" and "fully closed" when you're using a lens without contacts. When the lens does have contacts, the arm is either "fully open" or at an intermediate position based on the aperture setting on the body. So my theory suggests some issue when it tries to move to the "fully closed" position.

When does the flashing Av happen - after a shot, or all the time?