Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
06-01-2014, 01:29 AM   #1

Photos: Gallery
Outdoor wedding photos - best camera settings?

Hi there,

I'm very much an amateur photographer, and unfortunately (at least in my opinion) I'm terrible at photographing people. That being said, one of my friends who's just gotten married would like me to take some outdoor wedding pics tomorrow at a park with them. I own a K-5 II, DA 35mm F2.4, DA 18-135mm, DA 55-300mm, and a cheap Phenix 50mm F1.8 prime.

Off the top of my head, I'm thinking the 18-135 will probably be the most versatile, and that I should probably shoot in aperture priority mode - keeping the lens at around F8.0 (the sweet spot) for most of the photos. The forecast is for cloudy, partly overcast skies for tomorrow, with probably not very much sunshine.

Any ideas or suggested parameters I should keep myself within? I'm very new to this!

Thanks

06-01-2014, 01:56 AM   #2
Veteran Member

Photos: Gallery | Albums
Mostly be cautious about getting too much Depth of Field. I've seen shots of an actual wedding on the beach where someone in a bikini 50 feet behind the couple was nearly in perfect focus, and it was very distracting. Also work on getting the bride's eyes in focus. I believe the DA55-300 will give you better results and has a faster aperture. It's at its strongest from 55-135mm (which is what you'll mostly want to use) whereas the DA18-135 is reportedly at its weakest from 70-135mm.

So use mostly the DA35/2.4 and the DA55-300. The DA35/2.4 can (and sometime should be) shot wide open. The DA55-300 should be stopped down between 2/3 a 1 stop, IIRC (It's been a while since I had mine). With that lens you'll often be better off backing up and zooming to 100 or 135mm rather than being closer to them at 55mm. This will highlight them and give a nice blurred background.