Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
06-01-2014, 05:39 AM   #1
Site Supporter

Computer and software suggestions

I'm a returning hobbyist and now own a K3. I'd like to be able to take advantage of the technology in hardware and software available to enable post-processing of images. Don't know anything about it (haven't research it yet) so I thought that I would take advantage of the knowledge available on this forum. Without breaking the bank, what computer and software would compliment a hobbyist in current computer technology?
Thank you - I really look forward to hearing from you.

06-01-2014, 06:29 AM   #2
Pentaxian

When it comes to computer hardware, there is not really a bad choice. You should get the best your budget allows, PC or Mac both will more than likely serve you well. For photography, you'll want a good quality screen/monitor. Everything else (CPU, memory, HDD, video card) will pretty much only affect the speed at which you'll work.

Software wise, each one will have pluses and minuses. Each will have varying options and ease of use but in the end, they're all very similar and you won't necessarily get better results with one or another.

I use Apple's Aperture for the most part, complemented by Adobe Photoshop, running on a Macbook. GF is using Adobe Lightroom on a relatively inexpensive HP notebook and she is happy with it. When travelling we only carry one computer and neither of us mind which one it is. But honestly, I think we both prefer the Mac because of its screen (resolution and brightness) but we are very aware that it was more than twice the price of the HP. Software wise Lightroom has some builtin options I wish Aperture would have (lens profiles and decent noise reduction, for example) but I prefer the workflow of Aperture.

It's a question of personal preferences and budget. But as long as you have a decent monitor/screen you should be golden.
06-01-2014, 07:00 AM   #3