Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
06-10-2014, 07:15 AM   #1

K-50 or K-500 or K-5 II

Hi All,

I have a K100D Super and i have collected decent no.of of old manual lenses (around 10). I haven't used my Pentax a lot and still a beginner. I am blessed with a baby boy and need a decent camera (In no way i am suggesting K100D is not decent i one knows hot to use it. I am still learning).

I am trying to upgrade my camera as it has only 6MP (Not sure whether i need to upgrade !!). I am only looking to buy Pentax DSLR as i have invested in getting M42 and PK Mount lenses.

The models i am interested in are K-500 , K-50 and K-5 II (might be slightly out of my price range).

Really appreciate your inputs.

Thanks

06-10-2014, 08:04 AM   #2
Emperor and Senpai

The K50 is WR and the K5II has ISO 80, WR and 14 bit RAW. If you can get a deal on the K5IIs you get even sharper pics. All have a great sensor.
06-10-2014, 08:06 AM   #3
Site Supporter

Photos: Gallery
Pentax Cameras | Pentax K-5 II / IIs vs. Pentax K-50 vs. Pentax K-500 - Pentax DSLR Comparison - PentaxForums.com

The K5 II is probably overkill, and has a higher learning curve.

The only real differences between the K-50 and K-500 are the lack of WR and illuminated viewfinder focus points on the K-500.

B&H has a very good deal on the K-500 right now.

https://www.pentaxforums.com/forums/94-pentax-price-watch/265058-pentax-k-500-379-a.html
06-10-2014, 08:59 AM   #4
Veteran Member

QuoteOriginally posted by mars76 Quote
(Not sure whether i need to upgrade !!).
Other than only having 6MP, what isn't the camera doing for you? Only upgrade if there's a need to or you want to.

06-10-2014, 10:04 AM   #5