Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
06-12-2014, 06:06 AM   #1
Site Supporter
Site Supporter

My photos all seem to lack contrast and saturation.

I'm a newbie to digital photography and my K2000 is my first DSLR. I have several lenses for it, for the most part, all Pentax. My problem is, all photos taken with the camera seem to lack contrast and saturation. I can correct this to my satisfaction in PP, but I'm wondering.... is this a common trait with the K2000? I have adjusted the internal setting to increase both aspects of the pictures, but it hasn't seemed to correct this perceived problem. I still have room to increase both internally and suppose I could do so, but, just wondering.... is this normal? Or.... maybe I just like more contrast than most others. Hmmm......... ?

06-12-2014, 06:15 AM   #2
Site Supporter
Site Supporter

Photos: Gallery | Albums
I think what you're seeing is the effect of the jpg engine default settings in the camera. Pentax tends to be more neutral, while Canon and Nikon tend to boost saturation. You can increase this in the camera, by increasing the vibrancy and saturation of your default image processing. I tried this but didn't like it myself, I'd rather adjust in post-processing.

The other thing to think about is keeping your ISO as low as possible, which should help contrast. I think we've become accustomed to seeing the "pushed" profile of the P&S and Cannikon cameras, so we think it's normal - and it is more pleasing on a computer monitor which might not have as much contrast in these days of inexpensive LCD screens.
06-12-2014, 06:30 AM   #3

Camera Settings