Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
06-13-2014, 07:49 PM   #1

Adjusting my expectations - budget 300mm lens

I just picked up my first DSLR, a K-500, a couple of months ago, and so far am having a great time. Like any good Pentax noob, I picked up a number of cheap old lenses in the first couple of weeks. Mostly a couple of Pentax-M primes, which have been fun, but I've developed somewhat of a love-hate relationship with the long zoom I picked up, a Tamron 75-300mm f/4-5.6 LD.

I have a ton of fun with the long focal length - I mostly use it for wildlife shots and for a bit of people-watching (at the beach, etc.). It's an OK lens overall and I've actually taken some pretty decent shots with it, but in bright light I seem to pick up some CRAZY AGGRESSIVE purple fringing - enough that I really can't get it out effectively in PP (though I am still a bit new to working with RAW files), and enough that it kind of ruins the image. This seems to be especially prevalent at the 300mm end of the range.

I guess the question is, is this the lens or is it me? I feel like I've heard some complaints about Tamron long zooms and CA, though I'm perfectly willing to believe it's a problem with my technique.

I've been mostly shooting with apertures around f/8-11, and I've been using a UV filter but so far no hood. I don't have a ton of money to pick up a new lens at this point, but I have had my eye on the Pentax DA L 55-300mm based on the reviews I've read. Is that lens considered much better than the Tamron (or to similarly priced/spec'ed Tamrons), or am I looking at relatively minor differences until I move significantly further up the quality/price chain? (Also open to other suggestions, zoom or prime...)

I'd rather not throw money at the problem for minimal gain in lieu of honing my skills and saving up for something better, but also not looking to bang my head against the wall with an inferior lens for months on end.