Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version 13 Likes Search this Thread
06-21-2014, 12:19 AM   #1

Photos: Albums
Am I crazy?

Hi everyone. I have been shooting Pentax DSLR's for about 3 years now. I use to shoot only film (Fujica, Nikon, Canon, Konica). I had a KM and nowI have a K-X that I use with a 18-55 DA AL, 50mm smc-a f2, a Takumar 55mm 1.8, and a Sigma 70-300 DL Super Macro.

Ok, now that the exposition is out of the way here's my issue. Everything on paper tells me that I have a good camera, but when I compare Pentax KX to most Canon dslr images I seem to always prefer Canon. I just feel like I could reach in and grab the images. With my KX it just kind of sits there. I have taken some shots on my wife's t1i and I much prefer the results.

So the obvious answer is to just get a Canon and shut up already. But am I Crazy? Is it all in my head? I am seriously thinking of switching to a Canon 20d! I just love the images I see. All lenses, even kit. It just looks right. Should I follow my gut and make the switch to a 20d with a 70-300 usm and a 40mm 2.8 STM or stick with the Pentax and try to get over this?

I am not great at this photography thing by any means. Here is my flickr: https://www.flickr.com/photos/mariopanda/ (a couple of my wifes t1i pictures are in there.)

Maybe I just need some tips to take better pictures. Help clearing my jumbled mind at this point would be much appreciated.

Here are some Canon 20d images: Flickriver: Random photos from Canon 20D World pool

06-21-2014, 02:17 AM - 2 Likes   #2
Veteran Member

QuoteOriginally posted by mario-trumpet Quote
Should I follow my gut and make the switch to a 20d with a 70-300 usm and a 40mm 2.8 STM or stick with the Pentax and try to get over this?
As I told someone else recently, it's 10% equipment and 90% skill.