Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
07-03-2014, 09:24 PM   #1

Compatibility Pentax K 3 and vivitar macro 100 mm 1:3,5 diameter 4,9 mm

Hello everyone,
I need to buy a new camera because my old one is useless after an accident. I am a dentist and I would like continuing using my vivitar macro and anular flash in my dental practice. Can I use them if I buy pentax k3? Are they compatible?
Thanks in advanced for any information or advice.

07-03-2014, 09:33 PM - 1 Like   #2
Administrator
Site Webmaster

Photos: Gallery | Albums
If the vivitar lens has a Pentax mount, the answer is yes.

Adam
PentaxForums.com Webmaster (Site Usage Guide | Site Help | My Photography)

PentaxForums.com's high server and development costs are user-supported. You can help cover those costs by donating. Or, buy your photo gear from our affiliates, Adorama, B&H Photo, or Topaz Labs, and get FREE Marketplace access - click here to see how! Trusted Pentax retailers:

07-03-2014, 10:03 PM - 1 Like   #3
Forum Member

If your broken camera is a Pentax 24x36 or APS-c reflex, then it has a Pentax K mount. Then your lens is compatible with a Pentax APS-c DSLR as the K-3.
07-03-2014, 11:50 PM - 1 Like   #4
Site Supporter

As Adam said, compatibility is based on mount. Pentax dSLRs are compatible with almost all K-mount lenses*. They may also be used with most M42 screw mount lenses by way of an adapter.

Lenses in Canon, Nikon, Sony, Minolta, Konica, or Olympus mount are generally not usable on a Pentax dSLR.

How well your anular (ring?) flash works will depend on how it was used on your previous camera and the flash capabilities.

Steve