Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
08-02-2014, 07:53 AM   #1

K-30 light measuring problems

Hello fellow photographers.
I'm a noob photographer and K-30 owner (very satisfied with her).
Recently, while shooting a concert, the shots became very dark.
After doing a reset to default settings the issue was still there.
When shooting in video mode everything is fine and the picture is normal. When shooting in every other mode, the pictures become dark as if the light sensor gives wrong information to the camera. (when i raise the iso and lower speed, i can achieve a normal result but not with normal settings). Lens and body are fine (no chrushing )

I don't have much experience with troubleshooting (this is my first DSLR) and i would like to ask for advice. Are ther known problems with light sensor at these cameras? Will reinstalling the firmware fix this or should i contact pentax?
Thanks in advance
frog

08-02-2014, 08:11 AM   #2
Pentaxian

Photos: Gallery
Well, exposure is a function of shutter speed, ISO and aperture and there is no way around it. If your settings don't allow enough light in the just don't, laws of physics.
08-02-2014, 09:15 AM   #3
Site Supporter

Photos: Gallery | Albums
Hi! Welcome to the Pentax Forums!

There have been reports of an underexposure issue with the K-30, but before we jump to conclusions, it would be good to take a good look at what you are doing. Here is a list of things to consider:
  • Exposure mode (accidental M or X mode removes the meter from the exposure)
  • ISO setting (set too low perhaps?)
  • Meter mode (spot metering can really throw things off if you are not intending to use it)
  • Exposure compensation at some minus setting? (Added in response to severalsnakes' comment below)
If you want to do a quick test for exposure accuracy:
  • Find an evenly-lit, featureless white wall out of direct sun
  • Av mode
  • Matrix metering
  • Auto-ISO
  • Manual focus