Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
08-08-2014, 05:53 PM   #1

KX Taking Dark pictures

Hello.... Ive searched and searched online and cant find any clues as to whats going on with my KX. Problem I'm having is after first starting up my camera the first 7-8 shots come out almost pitch black, Ive even pointed it at the sun and it looks like a dim 5w bulb. After about 7-8 shots not changing any setting whatsoever it starts taking picture perfectly until I power off and it has to start up again. Any clues? Could the light meter be bad, or perhaps the Sensor is dying? Ive done software update to the latest, full reset , different lenses Pentax 18-55mm kit lense and my Pentax 50-200mm lense with no change. Ive had it for about 2.5yrs now and have about 7k actuations.

08-08-2014, 06:19 PM   #2
Site Supporter

Photos: Gallery | Albums
Thats pretty strange. I'm no expert but if I had guess I would have thought it could be something sticky around the aperture actuation.

You could confirm if metering is Ok by sticking the camera in manual and looking at the meter (don't need to take a photo) while adjusting shutter / aperture. Is consistent over a period after startup? Does the suggested exposure follow the "Sunny 16" rule (on a sunny scene, f16 + approx 1/125).
08-08-2014, 06:46 PM   #3
Veteran Member

Photos: Albums
The checks to do are switch it on and point it at your face and press the shutter with no flash.

Observe the aperture iris, is it closing all the way down.

Check the aperture the camera thinks it was using.

What your looking for is the iris stopping down to f16 by observation, but the camera thought it was wide open so records in the exif f4 or f5.6 or thereabouts.

If this is happening theres an aperture issue.