Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
08-16-2014, 06:59 PM   #1

Smudges?

I have a Pentax K-50 with the 18-55 WR kit lens. Lately I have noticed smudges when looking through the viewfinder, and it's more pronounced at bigger zoom levels. When the zoom is at 55 I can clearly see what appears to be fingerprints smudges all over the viewfinder.

Honestly this doesn't seem to be affecting the pictures when looking at them on the computer but it does bother me a lot when taking them.

Also I wonder where these smudges are because they are not in the front of the lens (as I clean this very often), so this baffles me a lot? Do I have to remove the lens and clean the back-end of the lens?

As you can probably tell I'm new to a camera with removable lens etc.

Thanks!

08-16-2014, 07:02 PM   #2
Administrator
Site Webmaster

Photos: Gallery | Albums
The smudges are probably due to dirt, oil, or hair on the focusing screen and/or mirror.

Adam
PentaxForums.com Webmaster (Site Usage Guide | Site Help | My Photography)

PentaxForums.com's high server and development costs are user-supported. You can help cover those costs by donating. Or, buy your photo gear from our affiliates, Adorama, B&H Photo, or Topaz Labs, and get FREE Marketplace access - click here to see how! Trusted Pentax retailers:

08-16-2014, 08:09 PM   #3
Site Supporter

QuoteOriginally posted by Adam Quote
The smudges are probably due to dirt, oil, or hair on the focusing screen and/or mirror.
Protective UV filter? Eyepiece glass?

Steve
08-16-2014, 09:03 PM   #4
Pentaxian

Also clean the back element of the lens. Don't be afraid to take it out. But don't try to clean the focusing screen or mirror by yourself. It's a very different job than cleaning a lens.

For cleaning the lens, use microfiber cloth, and cleaning solution dedicated for optical glass.

Last edited by JimmyDranox; 08-16-2014 at 09:20 PM.
08-16-2014, 09:39 PM   #5
Site Supporter

Photos: Albums