Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
09-01-2014, 02:15 AM   #1

Northern Lights, Lenses and Weather Resistance

Hello everyone,

As the title says, I am a bit of a beginner, and I need some advice. I will be spending two weeks in Finland in late December, including eight days in Northern Lapland, 300 km north of the Arctic Circle, and I am fervently hoping to come back with some quality pictures of the Northern Lights. I have done some research, both on the forum and on Google (this thread was particularly useful), and I have found that I will need very long exposures (up to 30 seconds apparently), so I have armed myself with a tripod. Still, I am not too comfortable about the idea of 30 second exposure, for a number of reasons, such as wind-induced motion, greater chance of snowflakes falling on the lens, loss of detail of the lights themselves, battery dying fast (according to Wikipedia, temperatures are usually in the -10/-20 °C (14/-4 °F) range) and my wife getting fed up with my time-consuming hobby and running off with a Finn on a reindeer-pulled sleigh.

Onto the actual questions:

1) I am currently equipped with a Pentax K-50 and two lenses: an SMC Pentax-DA L 18-55mm F3.5-5.6 AL WR and a Tamron AF 70-300mm F4-5,6 Di LD Macro 1:2. I realize the latter is obviously not the right tool for the job, but what I am too inexperienced to judge is: would the former enable me to take some good quality pictures with a more reasonable (say, 10-15 seconds) exposure, or am I asking too much from my kit lens?