Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
09-13-2014, 06:34 AM   #1

Focus Points?

[disclaimer: complete beginner]

I have a K-50 and up to now I have obviously been using Auto Focus and when the AF does not focus what I want, I give it my best try by adjusting it manually (18-135 WR so it has the Quick Shift thing).

Now my question is: where do the focus points come into play? Where and when would I make use of them? Does focus points work with auto focus or with manual focus? As you can tell I'm kind of lost to this.

Thanks

09-13-2014, 06:41 AM   #2
Administrator
Site Webmaster

Photos: Gallery | Albums
Focus points are just areas where the camera can measure the focus and potentially lock focus. If you're in 11 point af mode, the camera tries to guess where your subject is, and focuses accordingly. The denser the points, the more accurate this can become.

Most advanced users stick to single point af or select mode so you can tell the camera where to focus.

Adam
PentaxForums.com Webmaster (Site Usage Guide | Site Help | My Photography)

PentaxForums.com's high server and development costs are user-supported. You can help cover those costs by donating. Or, buy your photo gear from our affiliates, Adorama, B&H Photo, or Topaz Labs, and get FREE Marketplace access - click here to see how! Trusted Pentax retailers:

09-13-2014, 07:18 AM   #3
Veteran Member

I usually leave my camera either on the center AF focus point (focus and then compose) or select the focus point that I want (in that case I move the AF point to where the subject is in the frame).

The only time I use the "AUTO" AF mode (where the camera selects from multiple AF points on its own) is if I'm using continuous AF and shooting birds in flight or airplanes in flight at an airshow. Birds and planes move so quickly that it usually helps to let the camera pick the focus point when you're shooting against the empty sky.
09-13-2014, 07:19 AM   #4