Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
09-16-2014, 12:22 PM   #1

Overexposure with Manual Lenses

Hello,

I am a newbie to DSLR photography but have some basic background knowledge of exposure from my days of high school film photography class (longer ago than i'd like to admit in mixed company.) I guess that's just a little background on where I'm coming from

Anyway, I recently pulled out some old manual lenses to play around with on my K-500. I followed the directions on the sticky for how to use manual lenses with Pentax DSLR's and set out. I'll use one lens as an example, but this happened with 2 others that i tried, as well: I used an old Asahi 50mm prime, set the focal length when the camera asked, chose the ISO, chose an aperture setting on the lens, pressed the green button, and then camera chose a shutter speed for me. The trouble is, the shutter speed that the camera chose was way too slow, and the pictures were badly overexposed. After a couple like that, I got wise and adjusted the shutter speed each time before I snapped.

But, I am left wondering: what could be going on that the camera is consistently choosing the wrong shutter speed? Is it some metering setting that I've messed up? Unfortunately, I don't have the camera with me at the moment, so I can't check that. But, if anyone cares to mention what I might look for when I get home, I certainly will!

Thanks for reading!

09-16-2014, 12:44 PM   #2
Pentaxian

Welcome to PentaxForums.

Make sure the green button in Tav and M mode is set to Tv shift in eDial customization menu. Make sure ISO is not set to AUTO.

There is usually some exposure error when old manual focus lenses when using the viewfinder. The usual explanation for this is the difference in the brightness of the focus screens and metering patterns between the MF era and Digital. Usually it is a matter of running tests and learning how each lens behaves.