Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version 18 Likes Search this Thread
09-21-2014, 02:57 PM   #1

Should I begin to shoot RAW?

Hello,

I'm a complete beginner with a K50 and up to now I have been shooting in JPEG.

I value sharpness in my pictures above everything else. Besides getting a better lens (currently have 18-135mm WR), I read that I could shoot RAW and process my pictures in my PC (lets say with Lightroom) and that the processing power of such program will always be better than what the camera does when shooting JPEG. Questions:

I understand these programs (lightroom or similar) will have lots of sliders to control different properties and settings etc assuming that the user knows, but do they literally have a one-button that automatically processes RAW pictures and gives you what it thinks are the best settings? (similar to what the camera does when it shoots in JPEG)

Would you recommend a beginner to start shooting in RAW just like I'm contemplating? Way I think about it is that the change from JPEG --> RAW must be done at some point, why not now and learn little by little, although I understand the learning curve may be substantial hence my question of the existence of a one-button processing to start off.

Thanks and I welcome any advise.

09-21-2014, 03:01 PM   #2
Pentaxian

Photos: Gallery
Shoot RAW. I'm pretty sure most processing programs have an auto button - I know Elements does. I use that, then slide the exposure, brightness and contrast sliders to suit the image, if needed. There other sliders I use far less often. And I level the horizon, minor crop, and clone if needed. Typically spend less than 10 seconds :-)
09-21-2014, 03:16 PM - 1 Like   #3
Site Supporter
Site Supporter

Photos: Gallery | Albums
QuoteOriginally posted by Moropo Quote