Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
09-28-2014, 04:16 PM   #1

How can I improve my dull/drab/boring pictures?

Hello all,

I am a beginner though I have been taking pictures for almost 10 years - but not regularly. Lately, I am getting more interested after having couple of summer vacations and disappointed with my capabilities/results.

I have a Pentax K-30D with 18-135mm WR. Most of my pictures are dull and drab looking. They are missing oomph like I see in pictures on various sites online. I shoot RAW+JPEG but I haven't tried too hard to process RAW. I felt that the JPEG should be quite good and the RAW would add the last 10-20%. What could be going wrong technically?

I can understand that my composition and artistic skills are lacking but I do know the basics of exposure and lighting after having started with MX way back when and progressing through PZ-1, ZX-5 and then K-10D and now K-30D. Where all can I be screwing up?

I have attached a few sample images that aren't eye popping! Obviously, this is vague but I will take any tips or pointers. Questions welcome, of course. Thanks in advance!!

Attached Images
View Picture EXIF
PENTAX K-30  Photo 
View Picture EXIF
PENTAX K-30  Photo 
View Picture EXIF
PENTAX K-30  Photo 
View Picture EXIF
PENTAX K-30  Photo 
View Picture EXIF
PENTAX K-30  Photo 
09-28-2014, 04:26 PM   #2
Site Supporter

Photos: Albums
On the first three I would use a CPL and boost the clarity, contrast, and slightly bump the hue and saturation. Also, at the one of the lake where the sky is blown drop your aperture back some and go with a faster shutter speed. One more thing, are you using the lens hood?
09-28-2014, 04:39 PM   #3
Administrator
Site Webmaster

Photos: Gallery | Albums