Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
10-16-2014, 02:56 PM   #1
Forum Member

Help regarding eyeglasses and viewfinder

Hello Pentaxians.

While my camera is a K-50, I thought this sub-forum might be best.

I am left eye dominant, and wear glasses. I find it difficult to see the entire view within the viewfinder. As well, my right thumb and nose are competing for button use on the camera back. I am a newb, and wonder if there is something out there that might allow me to comfortably remedy that. I realize there is a lovely LCD screen (when there aren't any nose prints all over it), but prefer the viewfinder. Extensions? I obviously have no idea.

10-16-2014, 03:16 PM   #2
Pentaxian

Photos: Gallery
Decent eye relief is an issue for all us visually-impaired types who use (D)SLRs. I use my naked eye (mostly my right, but I often find it easier to use my left eye for some shots) to frame using the viewfinder, though I've added a Tenpa (search on eBay) magnifier, which increases the image size (at some slight loss of brightness, which is so small it doesn't worry me) and which provides a nice eyecup to black out stray light, as well as getting my nose a bit further away from the back of the camera. Obviously, I have to use dioptre adjustment to compensate for my myopia, but I do wonder if the range of adjustment is enough for others.
10-16-2014, 03:22 PM   #3
Forum Member

Original Poster
Seems that there is currently one on ebay for about $42, says it's for K-100D K-200D K-m K-x K-r, but details show teh K-50. Tempting at $42. May have to smooth over the wife a bit, but....
10-16-2014, 05:53 PM   #4
dms
Site Supporter