Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
10-21-2014, 06:41 AM   #1
Site Supporter

Photos: Gallery
Focus issues on Pentax K30

Greetings!

I've been a forum member for quite some time, but actually have lately forgotten to use its resources!

I've been a Pentax owner since 2009, first having a K200, then a Kr and now a K30. Each time I upgraded because I was frustrated with focus issues. FIVE times I have had to send in my camera for repair and each and every time it was an Auto Focus System Repaired issue. It was once for the K200, three times [in two years] for the Kr and my K30 was in last summer and I am beginning to notice issues again.
I am not a beginner photographer, having been taking photos for over 40 years, but I have never really been technically knowledgeable about settings and how they work. However, I don't buy professional level cameras and I didn't think it was rocket science to get a clear, sharp image from an entry level dSLR.

I mainly use my 35mm 2.4 and 50-135 2.8 lenses. I usually shoot in Av mode.
At this time, I can not afford a Spyder-type calibration tool, so I set up a shot on my dining room table, camera on tripod. For each shot I focused on the 6" mark on the ruler. I did not focus and re-compose, just shot as is from the tripod.

Here are the results. Any advice, opinion or help would be appreciated.

Attached Images
View Picture EXIF
PENTAX K-30  Photo 
View Picture EXIF
PENTAX K-30  Photo 
View Picture EXIF
PENTAX K-30  Photo 
10-21-2014, 07:49 AM   #2
Veteran Member

If you're focus testing (a) you need to be about 10x the focal length of the lens away from your target, (b) wide open aperture (i.e.f2.4 for your 35mm), and (c) in day-light (assuming it's the most common light source for your photography.

All of that said, it appears from your first shot that you have back focussing with the 35mm lens.
10-21-2014, 07:59 AM   #3
Site Supporter

Original Poster