Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
10-22-2014, 02:53 PM   #1

Pentax K100d not taking pictures

Hello,

I'm new to the forum but I've been using Pentax SLR cameras for about 4 years. I started off with a K1000, and as I can no longer afford to develop film, I invested in a cheaper but still good (that I've heard) K100d.

I am testing out my "new" camera for the first time and in the hour I've been fussing with it, I have only been able to take 5 pictures (5 really bad pictures actually). I am using a Tamron AF KAJ mount 75-300mm lens.

I set the permission to YES to use the aperture ring in the settings menu. Nothing is blinking on the camera screen that I can tell.

HOWEVER, the shutter will not fire!!! Even on auto or scene mode!

I bought this camera from KEH and was told it is Excellent+ condition, so I am hoping that there isn't an electrical problem with the shutter.

Is it a problem with the lens compatibility? Should I return it to KEH?

Sincerely,
Extremely frustrated

---------- Post added 10-22-14 at 06:49 PM ----------

Okay, the preview button attached to the shutter near the on/off switch fires the shutter, so I am thinking this is likely a compatibility issue between the lens and camera.

Even with the body switched to AF and the mode on SCN or AUTO, I can't take any pictures.

I cannot test a different lens as my other lenses haven't been moved to my new house yet.

10-23-2014, 06:24 AM   #2

Original Poster
Incidentally, placing the camera body in MF on the dial and near the lens insertion allows me to take pictures? Is this a safe way to use the lens? I am manipulating the lens manually in order to focus.

Honestly, I think it may be the same problem as here, where the AF mode is too much for the K100d to handle, and so it crashes after just one picture:

https://www.pentaxforums.com/forums/10-pentax-slr-lens-discussion/150599-tamr...esistance.html